A southern meal

Recently I’ve been trying to eat a bit healthier and exercise more after realising the flab around my waist was getting flabbier. Unfortunately, I have never been one to watch what I eat or go to the gym. In fact, a long time ago I had a cramp whilst sitting watching TV… and since I didn’t exercise and didn’t really know what a cramp was, I thought some artery had burst in my leg….lol

However, I think what’s even harder than trying to exercise regularly is having to eat healthy. That is a real challenge and one which I have already given up. Seriously, who can resist all the deliciousness out there. Just recently I’ve seen a couple of posts from some of my favourite food bloggers on fried chicken and all sorts of yummy southern style dishes. I couldn’t resist but try making some at home.

Since I have never really attempted southern style cuisine before I stuck to some of the basics. Fried chicken and buttermilk biscuits mmmm.

Fried chicken

I don’t really have a recipe or know any secrets to making crunchy shattering batter so for my chicken I just marinated it in buttermilk, dipped it in an egg wash and coated it with seasoned flour. With around 500 grams of chicken I used around 1 cup of plain flour, 0.5 tbsp paprika, 0.5 tbsp garlic powder, dried oregano, ground pepper, salt and a dash of chilli powder. Next time I think I’ll get chicken pieces with the skin on  and might use a wet batter as I found mine lacked crunchiness.

Buttermilk biscuits

Whilst I at least know what fried chicken should taste like, I’ve never even tried buttermilk biscuits before. Recipes online called for plain flour but since I ran out.. self raising had to do. With a food processor it was a cinch to make. I just pulsed 1 cup of flour with 3 tbsp of butter than pulsed through half a cup of buttermilk. The batter is supposed to be extremely wet which makes handling a bit annoying but after folding it a couple of times on a well floured bench I was able to cut out around 6 biscuits. The good thing about these biscuits are they cook quick so after 12 min in 200 degrees oven they were ready. Tasting it, I think they most resemble a scone but also have a texture like shortbread. Together with some milk gravy and coleslaw this made for an unhealthily awesome meal. Just look at all that brown..you know it’s good

DSC_0439

5 thoughts on “A southern meal

  1. This sounds very tasty, I’ll give it a try.You might like to use corn meal next time you make buscuits thdeaell done.

  2. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us!

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

